Tehsil Municipal Administration Rahim Yar Khan

Rahim Yar Khan was created as a separate administration district in 1943 (during the days of the British Raj. The district derives its name from its headquarters - the city of Rahim Yar Khan. The previous name of this district was Nowshera which was built as a castle in 1750 by Fazal Elahi Halani on the ruins of the ancient Pul-Wadda during Sumra rule in Sindh. In 1883, Nawab Sadiq Khan-IV of Bahawalpur renamed it after his son Rahim Yar Khan.
Rahim Yar khan was declared as a separate administration district in the year 1881, the Railway Authorities desired to change the name of railway station in the name of a town called Nowshera situated in Peshawar district. Consequently in 1881 to avoid any confusion because of similar nomenclature, Nawab Sadiq Khan-IV of Bahawalpur changed the name of the sub-division Nowshera after the name of his first son crown prince Rahim Yar Khan.

The Rahim Yar Khan district is bounded on the north by Muzaffargarh district, on the west by Rajanpur district, on the south by Jaisalmir (India) and Ghotki District (Sindh) and on the east by Bahawalpur district.


Home | Contact Us | Feedback | Links
2007 TMA Rahim Yar Khan, Pakistan. All rights reserved.